Who are the chess champions of India?

The Indian Chess Championship, nationally known as The National Premier Chess Championship, was founded in the year 1955 and is a National level Chess competition of India held every year. Initially, it was established as a biannual event by the Amdhra State Chess Association but from 1971 onwards it is being held every year.

The women's championship started in the year 1974 and for a decade it was dominated by the three sisters well known as the Khadilkar sisters. Vasanti, the eldest, won the first ever women's chess championship, Jayshree won four titles eventually and Rohini, being the youngest, brought home five titles from the women's Indian Chess Championship.

Some of the recent Chess Champions of India and their brief bios are as follows:

Murali Karthikeyan

The winner of the 2016 and 2015 Indian Chess Championship, Murali Karthikeyan, was born in Thanjavur in May of the year 1999. Murali is just 19 years of age and has become a two times national champion with other great, chess related, titles to his name. He started playing chess at an early age of just 5 years and won the 2011 U12 World Chess Championship that was held in Brazil. Two years later he won the U16 World Chess Championship held in Al Ain.

S. P. Sethuraman

Another chess grandmaster, Sethuraman Panayappan Sethuraman, was the winner of 2014 Indian Chess Championship. Born in Chennai in February of the year 1993 he became the winner of 2014 U12 Chess Championship held in Singapore. He became a chess grandmaster by achieving the three prerequisites in the year 2009 and won a shared second place in the Parsvnath Open held in New Dehli by scoring 8 points out of 10. In the same year, he became the winner of the U16 World Chess Championship held in Antalaya.

Padmini Rout

Padmini Rout is a three time, consecutive, winner, of the women's Indian Chess Championship of the year 2014-1016. She is honored with the titles of Woman Grandmaster as well as an International Master. She was the winner of the 2008 U14 girl's chess championship. In 2009, the Odisha government honored her with the Ekalavya Award.

Mary Ann Gomes

Before Padmini, Mary Ann Gomes was an unbeatable women's Indian Chess Champion since the year 2011. She holds many well recognized chess championship titles including the winner of Asian U16 Girls' Chess Championship and U20 Asian Gilrs' Chess Championship.

You may be interested in:

AICF  Play Chess  Watch Live  Chess Database  Tournaments  Chess Openings 

Links source: chess-links.org accessed on 27th of June 2017